Categories
Best Places to Work Communication Employee Retention Human Resources National Trends Online Employment Applications Tips for Small Businesses

New State Minimum Wage Changes

Beginning January 1, 2017, state minimum wages will increase across several states. The current federal minimum wage is $7.25 per hour, but the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) does not preside over state or local laws. This means that if a state’s minimum wage requirements are higher than federal wages, employers must pay the higher amount to employees.

Effective January 1, 2017, the following states have a minimum wage increase:

  • Alaska – $9.80 per hour
  • Arizona – $10.00 per hour and this amount will increase to $10.50 per hour on January 1, 2018
  • Arkansas – $8.50 per hour
  • California – $10.50 per hour and this amount will increase to $11.00 per hour on January 1, 2018
  • Colorado – $9.30 per hour and this amount will increase to $10.20 per hour on January 1, 2018
  • Connecticut – $10.10 per hour
  • Florida – $8.10 per hour
  • Hawaii – $9.25 per hour and this amount will increase to $10.10 per hour on January 1, 2018
  • Maine – $9.00 per hour and this amount will increase to $10.00 per hour on January 1, 2018
  • Massachusetts – $11.00 per hour
  • Michigan – $8.90 per hour and this amount will increase to $9.25 per hour on January 1, 2018
  • Missouri – $7.70 per hour
  • Montana – $8.15 per hour
  • New Jersey – $8.44 per hour
  • New York – $970 per hour for Greater New York; $10.00 per hour for Nassau, Suffolk and Westchester counties; $10.50 for New York City small employers and $11.00 for New York City large employers
  • Ohio – $8.15 per hour for companies that have gross receipts of $297,000 or more and $7.25 per hour for companies that have gross receipts under $297,000
  • South Dakota – $8.65 per hour
  • Vermont – $10.00 per hour and this amount will increase to $10.50 per hour on January 1, 2018
  • Washington – $11.00 per hour and this amount will increase to $11.50 per hour on January 1, 2018

 

Effective July 1, 2017, the following states have a minimum wage increase:

  • Washington D.C. – $12.50 per hour and this amount will increase to $13.25 per hour on July 1, 2018
  • Maryland – $9.25 per hour and this amount will increase to $10.10 per hour on July 1, 2018
  • Oregon – $10.25 per hour and the Portland metro area’s rate will increase to $11.25 per hour, while nonurban counties will increase to $10.00 per hour. The minimum wage will also increase to $10.75 per hour on July 1, 2018, the Portland metro area to $12.00 per hour and nonurban counties to $10.50 per hour.

Make sure your company is in compliance by researching detailed state laws.

Ninja Gig offers employers the ability to accept job applications online, which makes it simple for human resources professionals to manage these types of employment applications.  Sign up today for your no-obligation, 30-day free trial.